

# NORTH DAKOTA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

P.O. Box 185 · Grafton, ND 58237 Phone: (701) 213-0476 · Fax: (855) 450-2153 · Email: contact@ndsbce.org · Web: www.ndsbce.org

# Proposed Meeting Agenda for the North Dakota State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, scheduled for July 26, 2023 at 9:00 AM CST in the Peace Garden Room, ND Capitol, Bismarck, ND

Call to Order: Dr. Eric Froehling

Roll Call: Lisa Blanchard, Executive Director

Pledge of Allegiance:

Reading of the Mission Statement: Dr. Eric Froehling, President of the Board

Additions to the Agenda: \_\_\_\_

# Approvals:

Minutes of the April 12, 2023 Board Meeting Minutes of the May 10, 2023 Special Meeting Minutes of the June 7, 2023 Special Meeting Minutes of the June 21, 2023 Special Meeting Executive Director 2023 2<sup>nd</sup> Quarter Report 2023 2<sup>nd</sup> Quarter Financial Reports 2023 2<sup>nd</sup> Quarter Approval of Checks Written

Licenses: (ratification lists included on the separate pages with agenda) Ratification of Chiropractic Licenses Issued & Renewed Ratification of Reactivation of an Inactive License Ratification of Certified Chiropractic Clinical Assistant Certifications Issued & Renewed Edison Arauz, D.C. – Conditional

# Reports:

FCLB Annual Meeting – Froehling & Blanchard NBCE Part IV Testing - Dr. Ficek & Dr. Rokke NBCE Part IV Test Writing - Dr. Ten Broek

# Cases:

Dr. Schmitz - Settlement of Schmitz v. Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Case No. 2020-CV-01829<sup>1</sup> Dr. Schmitz v. ND Bd of Chiropractic Examiners, Case No. 08-2022-CV-02783<sup>1</sup> Dr. Jeffrey Pokorny (#2021-03)<sup>1,2</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The governing body anticipates this topic may be discussed in Executive Session. The legal authority for Executive Session is N.D.C.C. 44-04-19.1(2): Attorney Consultation.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> The governing body anticipates this topic may be discussed in Executive Session. The legal authority for Executive Session is N.D.C.C. 44-04-19.1(11): Settlement agreements between a public entity and another party are exempt from disclosure until fully executed and accepted by all parties.

#### **Cases Continued:**

Dr. Jeffrey Pokorny (#2022-02)<sup>1</sup> Dr. Daniel Pozarnsky (#2022-07)<sup>1,2,3</sup> Dr. Daniel Pozarnsky (#2022-08) Dr. Timothy Corrigan (#2023-01)<sup>1,4,5,6</sup> Dr. Mason Custer (#2023-02)

# **New Complaints:**

Unlicensed Practice Complaint Dr. Jason Moore (#2023-03)<sup>4,6</sup> Dr. Robert Shaw (#2023-04)<sup>4,6</sup>

# **Applications:**

Dr. Lanny Gabbert – 2023 Chiropractor License Renewal

#### **Board Business:**

AG Open Record Complaint (December 2021) - Schmitz AG Open Record Complaint (January 18, 2022) - Schmitz AG Open Record Complaint (January 31, 2022) - Schmitz Animal Chiropractic Information/Board of Veterinary Medicine Website, Technology & Office Equipment Planning Copy Machine Contract Renewal/Approval – Advanced Business Methods Administrative Rules Manuals

- Policy Manual
- Procedure & Operations Manual
- Peer Review Manual

Board Calendar Review

- FCLB District Meeting
- FARB RLS (Hicks)

#### Per Diem

Adjourn

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> The governing body anticipates this topic may be discussed in Executive Session. The legal authority for Executive Session is N.D.C.C. 44-04-19.1(9): Negotiation Strategy or Instruction

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> The governing body anticipates this topic may be discussed in Executive Session. The legal authority for Executive Session is N.D.C.C.44-04-19.2(1): A governing body may hold an executive session to consider or discuss closed or confidential records.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> The governing body anticipates this topic may be discussed in Executive Session. The legal authority for Executive Session is N.D.C.C. 43-06-14.1(7): All data and information, including patient records acquired by the board or the peer review committee, in the exercise of its duties and functions, are confidential and closed to the public. All board and peer review committee meetings wherein patient testimony or records are taken or reviewed are confidential and closed to the public.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> The governing body anticipates this topic may be discussed in Executive Session. The legal authority for Executive Session is N.D.C.C. 43-06-15(2) Signed written statements and other reports reporting to the board violations or alleged violations under chapter 43-06 are not public records.

# LICENSE RATIFICATIONS FOR April 13, 2023 – July 16, 2023

\*This list may be updated at the time of the meeting, if applicable. Licenses that are underlined were completed after July 17, 2023.

#### **CHIROPRACTIC LICENSES ISSUED:**

Sydney Olson (1181); Armand Pagano (1182); Austin Audette (1183); Carly Dropik (1184); Benjamin Whitten (1185)

# **INACTIVE CHIROPRACTIC LICENSE RENEWED (THAT LAPSED 09/01/2022):**

Victoria Lau (997)

# **REACTIVATION OF AN INACTIVE LICENSE:**

Victoria Lau (997)

#### **CERTIFIED CHIROPRACTIC CLINICAL ASSISTANT CERTIFICATIONS ISSUED:**

Tonya Hoppe (CCCA276); Lana Presler-Roaldson (CCCA277); Emily Schwols (CCCA278); Keegan Porter (CCCA279); Julissa Pena (CCCA280); Alexia Werner (CCCA281); Carley Huber (CCCA282); Felicia Johnson (CCCA283)

#### **CERTIFIED CHIROPRACTIC CLINICAL ASSISTANT CERTIFICATIONS RENEWED:**

Sydney Yale (CCCA133)

# CHIROPRACTIC LICENSES RENEWED (TO-DATE):

JaNyne Aker (660); Annette Bartosh Heacox (533); Shawn Berger (896); Carl Black (834); Byron Blowers 505); Julie Bryant (502); Nancy Byrd (366); Rex Byrd (364); Courtney Carpenter (960); Tonya Dockter-Miller (662); Paul Ellenbecker (440); Virginia Engh (993); Christopher Falcon (740); Mindy Farrell (965); Brad Feldner (719); William Fielhaber (683); Breyleigh Gegelman (1132); Jacob Grinaker (828); Mark Gunderson (895); Benjamin Hansen (1178); Erik Haroldson (833); Hannah Hellegaard (1159); Travis Helmers (987); Susan Johnson (678); Chad Kahl (754); Jamie Kahl (771); Hannah Keller (1119); Craig Kendall (434); Samantha Kiecker (894); Rusty Kjos (952); Bradley Kraft (704); Kaitlin Landowski (1106); Shane Miller (663); Aaron Moos (710); Angela Ness (720); Beth Nokken (578); Sydney Olson (1181); Kevin Paape (691); Samantha Pajestka (1137); Tanner Parizek (925); Matthew Puetz (1179); Dean Redington (367); Vincent Rokke (551); Nathan Sayler (493); Dwight Schmidt (380); Cameron Schroeder (1055); Jeremy Schultz (936); Eric Seiler (1120); Kylie Simnioniw (835); William Swanson (352); Sheri Ten Broek (602); Jeffry Vendsel (403); Clarissa Volk (962); Stacy Walstam (643); Stephen Walton (480); Kami Wehrman (741); Joel Weiss (416); Kent Yohe (343)